
Alyssa Healy removed the bailes with the wrong hand and Shafali Verma survived
With India’s score on 65/1, Shafali was foxed by a Tahlia McGrath delivery and Alyssa Healy removed the stumps in a flash even before the Indian batter could bring her foot behind the batting crease.
But the decision was referred to the third umpire and on seeing the replays it was discovered that Healy had removed the bails with her right hand, while she had the ball in her left hand.
Ball in the wrong hand
Shafali Verma survives#INDvAUS #CWG2022 pic.twitter.com/URJnph9NFJ— Pushkar Pushp (@ppushp7) July 29, 2022
According to the rules of cricket, the ball should be in the hand of the fielder when the contact is made with the wickets and the bails are removed.
Promoted
As a result Shafali, who was on 34 at that time survived the chance. She was eventually dismissed for 48 runs but by then she had given India a strong start.
Topics mentioned in this article