Ad-H Ad-H

See the last Supermoon of 2022 tonight! Know date, time and where to watch it live



Last Supermoon of 2022 will take place tonight; Know date and time to watch it.

Ad P

The last Supermoon of 2022 is all set to grace the sky today. The moon will appear slightly bigger and brighter than usual and hence it’s called Supermoon. This year, a total of four full Supermoons will be visible out of which three have already appeared in February, June and July and today will be the fourth and last one. According to NASA, this supermoon, also known as the Sturgeon moon, will be closest to the Earth in its orbit. It is known as Sturgeon moon as the Maine Farmer’s Almanac named it after a larger number of the huge sturgeon fish found in the water around the same time as the appearance of the moon. It is also known as Corn Moon, because of the abundance of crops at the start of the Northern Hemisphere’s harvesting season. Here’s all you need to know about the last Supermoon 2022 date and time.

When and where to watch the last Supermoon?

Supermoon will be visible on Thursday, August 11, at around 9:36 p.m. EDT (0136 GMT on Aug. 12). “The next full moon will be Saturday morning, August 13, 2022, appearing opposite the Sun in Earth-based longitude at 2:38 p.m. EDT. This will be on Thursday morning from the India Standard Time Zone eastward to the International Date Line,” NASA earlier wrote on its official website.

The skywatchers can view the last supermoon online. The Virtual Telescope Project will begin its livestream Friday (Aug. 12) at 01:30 a.m. EDT (0530 GMT). One can watch it at the project’s website or at Space. com.

Supermoons take place when a full moon is within 90 percent of the point where the moon is closest to Earth in its orbit. As suggested by reports, supermoons radiate around 30% more light on Earth than usual.



Source link

Leave a Comment